Tuesday Tales

This week, instead of writing to a word prompt we’re doing it to the picture. What makes it even more fun and interesting we have to keep the scene to a maximum of 300 words.

For me this is the start of an entirely new, as yet untitled, story which will be 3000-4000 words long and part of a 3 story collection I’ll be using for promotion.

Small Texas town

She glanced at her tablet, smiled then carried it up to the salesgirl. “That’s everything. Thank you for your help.”

“My pleasure and from the looks of it you’ll have a wonderful cruise,” the young clerk said.

Mikaila had been planning this two week getaway as a reward for not only receiving her doctorate early but getting the job she wanted. At twenty-eight she’d be the youngest counter-terrorism analyst in the Agency.

“I’m looking forward to the vacation. You have my address for the deliveries?”

“Yes. As promised they will be dropped off by noon day after tomorrow. With, as we discussed, all tags removed so all you’ll need is to pack them.”

“I’ll also make sure your manager knows how much you’ve assisted me.”

With that, Mikaila turned and started for the exit, still looking at some of the clothes on racks in case she missed something. Refocused on the door she noticed a bank of clouds or something white and visually impenetrable float in front of the building.

With a shrug, considering this was New York and anything could happen she pushed open the door and stepped into the mist. Taking another step Mikaila was suddenly in bright sunlight, except as she spun around she wasn’t in The Big Apple anymore.

Where she was she had no idea except it looked like small town USA with small mom and pop stores with striped awnings, milk glass lamp posts, not to mention American flags on poles.

“Can I help you Miss. You seem lost,” she heard a sensually husky male voice ask from behind her.

To stunned to speak Mikaila stood rooted to the jet black road underneath her. Taking in a breath she pivoted her head and came face to face with a silver haired, blue eyed god.

533878_4269943345628_1423091569_n

This entry was posted in Erotica, Fantasy, France, Ice Queen, Jessica Sales, Lacie Nation, Laurie White, Lindsay Downs, Mystery, Picture Prompt, Red Queen, Regency, Rodeo Queen, Romance, Secret Cravings Publisher, Snow Queen, Suspense, TT, Tuesday Tales, White Queen. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tuesday Tales

  1. Sigh, if only that would ever happen to me.
    Great scene Lindsay

  2. trishafaye says:

    Great opening for the start of a terrific story. I’m ready to read the rest!
    Oh my, what a great group of writers I’ve joined.

  3. Jean says:

    Great cliffhanger, Lindsay! You’ve sucked me in. I’m looking forward to the continuation of this story.

  4. Sue says:

    Wonder where that pic was taken. Reminds me of Niagara on the Lake. Oh dear she’ll miss her cruise….

  5. Iris B says:

    “Scotty” beamed her up 😉 …. Really liked that scene and look forward to more!

  6. Vicki Locey says:

    Oh dearest me, it always changes your life when you run into a god. *Fans face*

  7. Sarah Cass says:

    ~gasp~ What a cliff-hanger. What did she walk through…and who is this god? You’ve got me hooked 😀

  8. This is going to be good… Can’t wait to read more…xx

  9. Sherry Gloag says:

    Awesome, so want to know more

  10. Karen Cino says:

    Lindsay, I must tell you that I love this style of writing. I love the beginning of the story, and the transition from New York City to a small town. I can’t wait to read more!

  11. Davee Jones says:

    Whoa..that’s a total switch up. Looking forward to the rest.

  12. Carolyn Gibbs says:

    This sounds great, Lindsay. Looking forward to reading more.

  13. sellery2010 says:

    nice start to your story

  14. Tricia says:

    Oooh, oooh…he can help me…. I love the beginning of this story. I can’t wait to hear more!

Leave a Reply

