Sweet Saturday Sample

This is a scene from my soon to be released regency romantic suspense, Spy Catcher, by Secret Cravings Publisher. The book is schedule for release in July 2013 Here the heroine gets confirmation about something she’d suspected but wasn’t sure. As it’s not in edits please forgive any errors you might find.

????????????????????????????????????????

“Please let me pass as I have the requisite guard as decreed by His Grace to venture from the house.”

With that command he swung open the door just as Lord Gerrard gained the top step. With a smile and forgetting who was following Debbi rushed forward into his arms. This was followed by lips touching lips.

It wasn’t until a ducal clearing of a throat did the two lovers part, both with a touch of red to their cheeks for having been caught kissing.

Quickly, Debbi collected her thoughts before turning back to the Duke of Carlisle.

“Your Grace, may I once again present Lord Gerrard, eldest son to the Baron of Sidbury. And as to why he’s here might I suggest you query Lady Aleece on that point.”

Debbi stepped aside so he could make his bows to the ducal couple and Aleece.

“Your Graces, it is indeed a pleasure to make your acquaintances again. Lady Aleece I’ve already had the pleasure to meet, even though I feel she deceived the Earl of Whitchurch to her fishing prowess.”

It wasn’t until he caught sight of the Bow Street runner that she got panicked.

“I came at the behest of the Duchess to lend my support and assist with the investigation. What I didn’t expect was to see your brother here conducting the query,” Gerrard announced.

No sooner were the words out than Debbi spun around and stared at the man in question.

“Yes Debbi, you can see the resemblance around the eyes and jaw,” Aleece added.

“Now that you say it I can see the resemblance. It’s stronger with you, sir, than with the Thompson boy.”

“When I was here last I noticed a similarity between us, myself. I just wasn’t sure until just now when Lord Gerrard said it.”

“Might I suggest we retire to the study so we can try to unravel this growing mystery,” the duke announced.

Click HERE to return to the main blog page.

This entry was posted in Adult theme, Ice Queen, Jessica Sales, Lindsay Downs, Mystery, Red Queen, Regency, Rodeo Queen, Romance, Secret Cravings Publisher, Snow Queen, Suspense, Sweet Saturday Sample. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sweet Saturday Sample

  1. Sue says:

    Several mysteries here I see 😀

  2. Lisa Orchard says:

    Sounds like a great story Lindsay! No wonder you’re a bestselling author! 🙂

  3. Sarah Cass says:

    How interesting. The plot thickens indeed! Great excerpt!

  4. Jean says:

    Love a good mystery! Great excerpt, Lindsay.

  5. A long-lost brother? Interesting. Can’t wait to read more.

  6. Marsha Ward says:

    This can go in so many ways. Congrats on the forthcoming book!

  7. Cangrats on your coming release

  8. Carrie-Anne says:

    I love the mystery in this.

Leave a Reply

