Tuesday Tales

After a week off we’re back in strength this week, ready to tease and tempt you with scenes based on a word. This week it’s funny. It will be interesting to see how each of us attack this word.

Here’s a scene from my WIP, Rodeo Queen, so please excuse any mistakes you might find.

“There’s a vague resemblance to someone we both know but I can’t be sure. How about you?” Jessica probed.

“No. Sorry.”

She took the picture back then turned to her father. “You by any chance have a scanner or the picture in digital format?”

“Yes to both.”

“Good. Ronny, call Toby and tell him I’m sending him a picture and need him to run it through facial recognition.”

“Got it,” he answered pulling out his cellphone and placing the call.

“Dad, I need your computer and the digital picture.”

She followed him out and back into his office. While she waited for his computer to boot up she studied the pictures on the walls. Each one of her barrel racing, receiving a trophy saddle or belt buckle. Looking at them she could feel a tear form as she remembered a younger, freer less painful time in her life.

“Yes, little one. I’ve kept them all. Every week I neatsfoot oil the saddles always hoping someday you’ll come back for them.”

“Well, I guess I might just have to haul one of them bad boy’s out since part of my cover is my return to the circuit.”

Funny you should say that. While you were out I called and registered you for next weekend’s event.”

She could feel her eyes widen at his words. She spun on her heel coming face to face with him.

“You what?”

“You heard me. You told me the only way to get close to the person poisoning the stock was to get back into the game so I figured now was the best time. Also, it’s a small one in Liberty Hill. Those are the ones where most of the stock aren’t performing.”

“Fine we’ll deal with this later. Is the computer ready?”

“Yes and so is the digital file,” he answered.

“Thanks. Sorry for being so snippy.”

“Don’t worry about it honey. I know you’ve got a lot on your mind right now.”

533878_4269943345628_1423091569_n

This entry was posted in France, Ice Queen, Jessica Sales, Lindsay Downs, Mystery, Picture Prompt, Red Queen, Regency, Rodeo Queen, Romance, Secret Cravings Publisher, Snow Queen, Suspense, TT, Tuesday Tales, White Queen. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tuesday Tales

  1. Sue says:

    Very nice. A glimpse into her personal life.

  2. Vicki Locey says:

    Another lovely excerpt!

  3. Sarah Cass says:

    Very nice. Love that even though it’s her plan, she still balks…I want to see what happens when she ends up back in the saddle.

  4. Tricia says:

    I love the interaction between her and her dad – how proud he is of her that he kept all her trophies. It’s crazy what prizes parents will keep. I have a china hutch overflowing with track ribbons I can’t part with. Great job!

  5. Jean says:

    Love the father-daughter relationship you portray. It’s warm and yet they are both independent. Nice painting of his affection for her by the pictures on the wall. Subtle but very effective.

  6. fionadruce says:

    Very subtle glimpses into the depth of her personality 😀

  7. alleemae says:

    should be like riding a bike, back in the saddle will be good, and probably bring back some happy memories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

