Tuesday Tales

Welcome back for another Tuesday Tales. This week the word prompt is sand. The scene I have here is from Rodeo Queen which I started sharing with you last week. Here you’ll learn a little about the heroine’s past. Enjoy. Don’t forget to check out the other authors by clicking on the link at the bottom of the page.

Jessica running the clover leaf.

Jessica running the clover leaf.

“All right, for those of you who’ve never been to a rodeo or seen one on TV this is where we’re going.” With that she pressed the play button and in seconds the screen was filled with the sights and sounds of what they’d be involved in within a few days.

“These look like they are from home movies Jessica?” John asked.

“They are. Either I took them for fun or my foster dad did. When I went home for my foster mother’s funeral he gave them to me and I then had the movies transferred onto the disks. I haven’t looked at these in years,” she said stopping the video.

“Hey why’d you do that. The announcer said the next event was barrel racing. That’s one event I love watching, and no honey not because of the women but speed those horses go,” Ronny declared.

“Good thing you aren’t hot for the ladies. Here we go.” She turned the movie back on.

When they heard the broadcaster say, “Now up, number 13 Jessica Sales on her mare Sweetpea,” no one dared say a word.

They watched in awed silence as Jessica raced the stopwatch around the cloverleaf pattern. Sand kicked up by her horse’s hooves as they rounded a barrel added to the thrill.

Seeing herself again on her horse brought tears to her eyes as she remembered this had been the last time they’d competed.

“Two days after this win I enlisted in the Army.”

“So that’s what you’re going to do, barrel racing?” Ronny asked.

“Yes, I just need to find the right horse but I’m sure Dad can hook me up. And speaking of up, time to get to bed. I’d like to be wheels up by ten.”

533878_4269943345628_1423091569_n

This entry was posted in Erotica, France, Ice Queen, Jessica Sales, Lindsay Downs, Mystery, Red Queen, Regency, Rodeo Queen, Romance, Secret Cravings Publisher, Snow Queen, Suspense, TT, Tuesday Tales, White Queen. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tuesday Tales

  1. Sherry Gloag says:

    Incredibly visual and I could feel her determination and hear the crowd yelling.

  2. Sarah Cass says:

    Love the visual…but I can feel her pain at missing it. I hope she’s able to find another horse soon. 🙂

  3. fionadruce says:

    I hope she gets back to it! 🙂

  4. jeanjoachim says:

    I love the way you used the prompt to add more depth to Jessica by filling us in a bit on who she used to be, where she came from. I like this a lot, Lindsay. Well done.

  5. Iris B says:

    nice to read a bit about her past.

  6. karencino says:

    Love reading about Jessica’s past. Lovely description. I’m loving this story already.

  7. Vicki Locey says:

    Very nice way to give us some info on her past. Well done!

  8. Tricia says:

    I’m curious why she gave up barrel racing for the Army. Very intrigued. I loved learning about her past. I can’t wait to learn more about her!

  9. Tai says:

    Jessica is quite a woman. I’m intrigued to find out why she enlisted in the army her life seemed so full.

Leave a Reply

