Tuesday Tales

This week the prompt is ghost and I’ve used it in a rather interesting way. The following scene is from my WIP, Red Queen.

“Sorry boss, I wasn’t able to trace the call. Seems our Mr. Boris is smarter than we might have thought,” John said.

“I don’t follow. It should have been a simple trace either to a landline or a cell phone,” Jessica countered.

“Yeah. Normally that’s the case but here he used a ghost server to route the call from wherever he is to us. With time I might be able to retrace it but what I’m worried about is he might have found us,” he stated.

Jessica laughed which brought strange looks from the other members of the team. Finally, “If he does try anything he’ll end up facing down a Special Forces A-team that owe me big time.” She cocked her head sideways to Ronny, “You know who and what I’m talking about, right?”

“Somebody want to enlighten us not in the know,” Martina demanded.

“My next to the last mission with the Company. All I can tell you is Bosnia and an assassination of a terrorist leader. They’d taken two of the Spec Ops prisoner and were about to execute them when I arrived on scene and took out the leader. There was just enough confusion for the rest of the team to get in and rescue them.”

“So, when she went to work for The Consortium they let Jessica know if need be to set up a phone connection to their base if she ever needed to. When we got this case I contacted them and set everything up,” Ronny finished the story.

“I sort of hope he does try something, those guys have been a little bored since getting back from Iraq,” Jessica added.

She started pacing the office mulling what the man had suggested.

Jessica spun around, “For what it’s worth, I don’t think it’s a good idea. It would put us all at risk. We’ll have to find some other way to catch him.”

A growl from her stomach told her it was food time.

“My feels exactly boss. Let’s see what Collette has for us, John said.

That was all it took for them to troop out and to the kitchen.

Click HERE to return to Tuesday Tales

This entry was posted in Collie, Dakota, Emily Dahill, France, Ice Queen, Jessica Sales, Mystery, Red Queen, Regency, Romance, Suspense, TT, Tuesday Tales, White Queen. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tuesday Tales

  1. Sue says:

    yes you did too use “ghost” in an unique fashion 😀

  2. Vicki Locey says:

    Very clever way to meet the prompt! 😉

  3. Thanks for an excellent read! I love suspense!

  4. Sherry Gloag says:

    Very clever use of ghost 🙂

  5. karencino says:

    I agree with the others. You always find a unique way to incorporate the word prompts into your story. This time, you did an awesome job.

Leave a Reply

