Be Bold

 

There is a reason I have titled this post with those two words.  It goes back to a saying of my mum’s that resonates in most that I do.  The saying goes: Be bold, for when you are bold, magnificent forces move to your aid.  Or something like that.

I have integrated this saying into my writing life as much as possible.  I decipher it to mean take risks, go outside of the comfort zone, experience something new and exciting and maybe, just a tiny bit dangerous.

I have done this recently.  I tried my hand at horror.  This was a genre that drew me to read in the first place.  I was an early reader, and the books I chose I would die if my kids wanted to read them at the same age I did.  I was reading Stephen King and Isaac Asimov and even George Orwell, for fun, not for class on the Orwell.  I was drawn to the fantastic, the unbelievable, the barely possible, but maybe, just maybe.  And I wanted to write it.

I have started my career with the young adult paranormals, which I love.  Writing in the teen voice was a natural to me.  I wrote four books and suddenly found these short stories kidnapping my ideas.  Short, horror stories.  I tried to ignore it and write another novel.  Yeah, not gonna happen.  Horror had stopped by and wanted to play.  But it made me nervous.  I spoke to my Mum and she told me not to stifle the horror voice, embrace it.  I thought about it and decided to try.  Well, Musina (my muse) who had clearly been lying in wait for my decision, opened the floodgates.

Because I had agreed to the universe to be bold, magnificent forces moved for me.  Meaning my muse.  I cranked out four of those stories banging around in my dark corners, self-published it, and held my breath.  When it was well-received, I tried it again, releasing a second collection of five stories.  But, I never left my first love, YA.

My new release is a YA paranormal called Waterdancer, and I am shopping another YA, this one a darker, edgier kind of thriller/paranormal.  I am also trying my hand at something brand new, a dystopic.  And I can see the horror sneaking in on that one.  I think I might have to be bold again real soon.

Query for Waterdancer

As if high school isn’t hard enough, try being Bailey Wasserman.  Try being the new girl in town, navigating a touchy relationship with your flighty mom’s rich new husband in a brand new town he’s just moved you to.  Add to that finding out that your father, a semi-pro surfer who’s just mysteriously re-entered your life after nearly fifteen years of silence, is half sea-creature and you’re about to inherit that particular gene on your sixteenth birthday which is only a few days away, all after you just met the cutest surfer boy you’ve ever seen in your life.

Bailey feels she and her mom have always met life’s challenges as a team of two, more like best friends than mother and daughter.  But her mom’s recent marriage has changed all that.  Having her little brother Landry is all Bailey can find good about that union.  The move to wealthy Del Mar from their humble beginnings has turned Bailey sour, until a chance meeting of surf hottie Jack West changes all that.  Then, when her father reenters her life, with his annoying Zen-surfer lingo and a talking turtle he claims is her spirit guardian, no less, he threatens the only relationship Bailey thinks is working in her world. She soon finds out that’s not all his arrival will do.  His presence and their shared family trait could ultimately force Bailey to make a decision that will alter the course of her own life and those she loves…..forever.

CONNECT WITH ME!

Fan Page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Samantha-Combs-Fan-Page/205186202866933

Email: samanthacombswrites@gmail.com

Blog: http://www.samanthacombswrites.blogspot.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/samanthacombs1

This entry was posted in Collie, Dakota, Emily Dahill, Ice Queen, Jessica Sales, Mystery, Paranormal, Samantha Combs, Suspense, Young Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be Bold

  1. Sue says:

    If one doesn’t take risks be it writing or life then it’s not gonna be much of a life.

Leave a Reply

