Sweet Saturday Sample

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been sharing scenes from my historical romance, Love and War. For those of you not aware I sold the book the other day to Secret Cravings Publishing. As such, until the book is released, I won’t be sharing any of the scenes from any of the stories. Instead I’ll be sharing scenes from one of my other WIPs.

FYI- Love and War will be available, tentatively, in December

SO, now that that’s out of the way here is another scene from my regency romantic suspense WIP, Don’t Cross the Countess.

In two strides he was at her side. With a friendly smile to the collies guarding Annalee he knelt beside her. In his hand the pocket knife, his father had given him years ago, open. The sun glistened off the blade as he slipped it between the dress sleeve and her delicate skin. With a flick of his wrist Jim laid bare the sight of the wound.

Acting on instinct, as any battle tested soldier would, he untied his kerchief from around his neck. With some of the material from the sleeve to pack the wound he secured it in place with the scarf.

He spun on his knee ready for battle when a hand settled on his shoulder. “Easy James. Tis just I,” the soft voice of Mrs. Oglethorpe said. “I’ve sent the people away except for the doctor. He should be here momentarily.”

Jim slanted his head up to see the housekeeper at his side. Slowly, the words she’d said formed in his mind. “That drunken sot what good could he possibly do considering his most like inebriated state.” He paused and looked around to see who could be of the most use.

Behind Keith, who cradled Annalee’s head to protect it from injury, quaking in fear her ladies maid. “Brittany,” Jim snapped in hopes of getting the poor girl to focus. When she lifted her eyes to him he gave her a comforting smile. “That’s my girl.” He gave her a calming smile at the acknowledgement of him. “I need you to get a basin hot water from the kitchen.”

She, now oriented to her task and not the shock of seeing her employer prostrate with a bullet wound, started to leave when she stopped and glanced back over her shoulder. “Should I bring honey to pack the wound so the bandaging won’t stick?”

“Smart girl, yes honey would be perfect. Clean linen as well. Make sure it’s white and one bed sheet should be sufficient.”

Don’t forget to join the Astraea Press Book Club. Each month book is chosen. All you have to do when the book is posted on the FB group is email the coordinator to receive a copy. The genres will vary month to month. At the end of the month the author will hold a discussion with readers.

This month the book is The Last Great Wizard of Yden by SG Rogers.

And stay tuned for word when for the next book in the Emily Dahill Series, Emily Dahill, CID Part 2.

This entry was posted in Dakota, Don't Cross the Countess, Emily Dahill, Love and War, Sweet Saturday Sample. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sweet Saturday Sample

  1. sue says:

    Love that woman’s name.. the housekeeper? and how did the sweet thing get shot?? Did they really use honey to pack the wound??

    oh yeah- and CONGRATULATIONS AGAIN

  2. Sherry Gloag says:

    I agree, I didn’t know that about honey, either. Who shot her and why? I want more 🙂

  3. Congrats on the sale! Honey? I have never heard of that one! The thought of all that thick, sticky goo being put on an open wound made me cringe!

  4. Leah says:

    Love the vivid imagery, Lindsay! And I was thinking “botulism” when they were talking about the honey. 🙂

  5. The honey thing impressed me. It would work perfectly, and doesn’t get contaminated.

  6. Carrie-Anne says:

    Honey sounds like a great idea for wound care! And congratulations on your recent sale.

  7. Mirriam Smyth says:

    Congrats on the sale, Lindsay!

    I love his acknowledgement of the collies guarding Annalee. I don’t know why. It made me smile. Great sample. I wonder how she got injured and if she’ll be okay.

  8. Congrats on the sale!! 😀

  9. Iris says:

    Great title, Lindsay, great sample!

Leave a Reply

